The Athens Symphony’s governing board is comprised of 17 business and community leaders serving as officers and elected directors.

The Board is responsible for ensuring the Symphony operates on a sustainable basis as a financially-sound, volunteer community asset.

Board of Directors

2020 – 2021
  • Mr. Mike Bascle, President
  • Ms. Carol Cofer, President-elect
  • Mr. Carl Blount, Secretary
  • Ms. Sallyanne Barrow, Treasurer
  • Mr. Phil Bettendorf, Past President
  • Ms. Susan Dinwiddie, Conductor
  • Mr. Brad Maffett, Associate Conductor
  • Dr. Randan Ashmore
  • Mr. E. Davison Burch
  • Mr. Ed Dempsey
  • Mr. Titus Gambrell
  • Ms. Jane Kidd
  • Dr. Roy Legette
  • Ms. Becky Matheny
  • Ms. Carol Reddish
  • Capt. Leonard Sapera
  • Mr. Wade A. Schueneman


  • Dr. Richard A. Hudson, Executive Director of the Athens Symphony
  • Ms. Cheri Rose, Administrative Secretary